One Child &
One Community
at a Time ... for 91 Years

With over 14 active projects, hundreds of
hours of service donated per year, and
dozens of members, the Kiwanis Club of
Regina is proof that as a group, we can
achieve what individuals cannot do alone.

About Us


The name "Kiwanis" is a coined word taken from the language of an American Indian tribe which lived in the area where Kiwanis was founded. The original phrase was "Nun Keewanis" which means "self expression" or "to make oneself known."


Strength in Numbers

Kiwanis is a worldwide service organization for individuals desiring personal involvement in the leadership and improvement of their communities. As a group, we can achieve what individuals cannot do alone. Kiwanis was founded in Detroit, Michigan on January 21, 1915. On November 1, 1916 the first Canadian club was organized in Hamilton. The Kiwanis Club of Regina was chartered on March 11, 1919. We were the second service club formed in Regina, the 9th Kiwanis Club established in Canada and the 123rd in North America.



A Spriit of Volunteerism

Kiwanians voluntarily share the challenge of community improvement and leadership, assuming personal responsibility for humanitarian and civic projects that public authorities are not able to perform.


These projects are predominantly local in nature. They include assistance to youth and the aging, conservation of natural resources, development of community facilities and creation of international understanding and good will.


Have Your Say

Kiwanis clubs are geared to address the needs of the community through standing committees, each of which is concerned with a different area of service. All of these programs enable Kiwanians to give of themselves - experience, knowledge, time and love - to all who need them.



Ready to Join?

Kiwanis is a service organization, not a social club, although enduring friendships are created through fellowship that comes from mutual effort devoted to useful ends.


Kiwanis is often a public forum. Meeting programs frequently provide platforms for the balanced, and impartial, presentation of public issues. We meet weekly on Tuesdays for lunch at the Regina Inn at noon.


We welcome new members from all walks of life. Kiwanis fosters principles of good citizenship and human values - it does not prescribe a way of life for others. And finally, the actions of each club are guided by local needs. If you're ready to change the world, all we ask is that you adhere to our oath:


  • To give primacy to the human and spiritual, rather than the material values of life.
  • To encourage the daily living of the Golden Rule in all human relationships.
  • To develop, by precept and example, a more intelligent, aggressive and serviceable citizenship.
  • To promote the adoption and application of higher social, business and professional standards.
  • To provide, through Kiwanis Clubs, a practical means to form enduring friendships, to render altruistic service and to build better communities.
  • To co-operate in creating and maintaining that sound public opinion and high idealism which make possible the increase of righteousness, justice, patriotism, and good will.

Past Presidents

1919 P.M. Anderson
(later Premier of Sask)
1920 P.M. Anderson
1921 T.A. Wilson
1922 P.D. Tanner
1923 F.M. Logan
1924 D.R. Sharp
1925 C.B. McKee
1926 J.G. Gass
1927 J.J. Smith
1928 J.G. Nickerson
1929 G.A. Ewart
1930 W.L. Gilliland
1931 G. Leach
1932 A.K. Olive
1933 E. MacPherson
1934 F.A. Markham
1935 C. Hampshire
1936 H.F. Thomson
1937 H. Daley
1937 R.W Drury
1938 C.M Willoughby
1939 C. Jaggs
1940 M.B. Farr
1941 J.F. Sweeney
1942 G.H. Bennett
1943 J.W. Hamilton
1944 C.S. Chapman
1945 F.G. Butterfield
1946 L.C. Moffatt
1947 D.J. Pells
1948 E.R. Gass
1949 J.D. Cameron
1950 A.B. Sexsmith
1950 H.R. Dredger
1951 O.M. Paulson
1952 A.J. Hosie
1953 C.R. Lennan
1954 P.L. Downey
1955 H.L. Lawrence
1956 L.E. Fingarson
1957 C.A. Vogel
1958 J.S. Griffith
1959 D H. Stock
1960 M.V. Lawrence
1961 T.C. Wakeling
1962 O.A. Fitz
1963 C.F. Westerman
1964 L.T. Holmes
1965 J.J. Kurtz
1966 M.M. Boyles
1967 A.F. Lough
1968 E.E. Johnson
1969 G.G. Devlin
1970 Dr. C.N. Bolen
1970 K.W. Nelson
1970/71 Dr. H.A. Kinzel
1971/72 J.D. Strachan
1972/73 J.N. Rae
1973/74 G.L. Bobbitt
1974/75 G.A. Young
1975/76 A. Storer
1976/77 A.J. McGilvray
1977/78 H.G. Gallagher
1978/79 C.B. Gording
1979/80 E. Evans
1980/81 E. Evans
1981/82 R.F. Yeo
1982/83 T.J. Quinn
1983/84 L. Peddle
1984/85 G.K. Smith
1985/86 J.L. Campbell
1986/87 C. Neff
1987/88 A.L. Rausch
1988/89 G. Pearce
1989/90 G.J. MacLennan
1990/91 P. (Penelope) Marshall
(1st female President in Western Canada)
1991/92 D.A. Jesse
1992/93 D.A. Jesse
1993/94 Dr. C.N. Bolen
1994/95 D.M. Thomas
1995/96 F.W. Switzer
1996/97 F.W. Switzer
1997/98 B.C. Vander Ziel
1998/99 R.I.L. MacKay
1999/00 L.E. Johnson
2000/01 L.E. Johnson
(Lt. Gov. 2002-03)
2001 Rev. D.E. Craddock
2001/02 J.J Kurtz
2002/03 D.M. Thomas
(Lt. Gov. 2003/04)
2003/04 D.A. Jesse
(Lt. Gov. 2004-05)
2004/05 S.R. Harrison
2005/06 D.D. Patterson
2006/07 Rev. B.A. Dixon
2007/08 S.R. Gray
2008/09 S.R. Gray
2009/10 Dr. H.A. Kinzel
2010/11 R.I.L. MacKay